The Leading eBooks Store Online

4,416,707 members ⚫ 1,552,143 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Sociology of Religion

Most popular at the top

  • The Righteous Mindby Jonathan Haidt

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2012; US$ 17.00

    New York Times Bestseller   In this “landmark contribution to humanity’s understanding of itself” ( The New York Times Book Review ) social psychologist Jonathan Haidt   challenges conventional thinking about morality, politics, and religion in a way that speaks to conservatives and liberals alike.    Drawing on his twenty five years of... more...

  • God Is Not Oneby Stephen Prothero

    HarperCollins 2010; US$ 13.51

    In God is Not One: The Eight Rival Religions That Run the World , New York Times bestselling author of Religious Literacy and religion scholar Stephen Prothero argues that persistent attempts to portray all religions as different paths to the same God overlook the distinct problem that each tradition seeks to solve. Delving into the different... more...

  • Unorthodoxby Deborah Feldman

    Simon & Schuster 2012; US$ 11.99

    The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape , featuring a new epilogue by the author. As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced... more...

  • A Place on the Teamby Welch Suggs

    Princeton University Press 2006; Not Available

    A Place on the Team is the inside story of how Title IX revolutionized American sports. The federal law guaranteeing women's rights in education, Title IX opened gymnasiums and playing fields to millions of young women previously locked out. Journalist Welch Suggs chronicles both the law's successes and failures-the exciting opportunities for women... more...

  • When Peace Is Not Enoughby Atalia Omer

    University of Chicago Press 2013; US$ 29.00

    The state of Israel is often spoken of as a haven for the Jewish people, a place rooted in the story of a nation dispersed, wandering the earth in search of their homeland. Born in adversity but purportedly nurtured by liberal ideals, Israel has never known peace, experiencing instead a state of constant war that has divided its population along the... more...

  • A Rumor of Angelsby Peter L. Berger

    Open Road Media 2011; US$ 17.99

    Influential scholar Peter L. Berger reveals five signs that point to the supernatural and its place in a modern secular society   Acclaimed scholar and sociologist Peter L. Berger examines religion in twentieth-century Western society, exploring the social nature of knowledge and its effect on religious belief. Using five signs evident in ordinary... more...

  • The Elementary Forms of the Religious Lifeby Émile Durkheim; Joseph Ward Swain

    Dover Publications 2012; US$ 12.95

    A founder of modern sociology examines animism, naturism, totemism, myth, and ritual in this 1912 classic, which traces the source of religion and morality to a collective consciousness. more...

  • Sociology of Religionby Kevin J. Christiano; Jr. William H. Swatos; Peter Kivisto

    Rowman & Littlefield Publishers 2015; US$ 66.50

    This third edition introduces students to key principles in the sociology of religion—from history and theory to contemporary debates. This edition features new material on the relationships of religion to race and ethnicity, and to gender and sexuality, the perceived rise of both fundamentalism and secularism, global religion, and more. more...

  • Drawn to the Godsby David Feltmate

    NYU Press 2017; US$ 28.00

    A new world of religious satire illuminated through the layers of religion and humor that make up the The Simpsons, South Park and Family Guy. Drawing on the worldviews put forth by three wildly popular animated shows – The Simpsons , South Park , and Family Guy – David Feltmate demonstrates how ideas about religion’s proper place in American... more...

  • The Emergence and Evolution of Religionby Jonathan H. Turner; Alexandra Maryanski; Anders Klostergaard Petersen; Armin W. Geertz

    Taylor and Francis 2017; US$ 34.61

    Written by leading theorists and empirical researchers, this book presents new ways of addressing the old question: Why did religion first emerge and then continue to evolve in all human societies? The authors of the book—each with a different background across the social sciences and humanities—assimilate conceptual leads and empirical findings from... more...